The second night in Shangri-La have the dogs pity on us and create longer pauses Bell. So we run fairly well rested on eight clock three kilometers along the river past the pits and fences to the ticket office of Yading Nature Reserves. In Yading there are three Tibetans sacred mountains, of which the highest, Chenresig, 6032 Meters into the sky. All three have been hitherto never been climbed. However, Tibetans go around like the Chenrezig or all three mountains, which one is your faith to acquire great merits.

The visit of Yading Nature Reserve is no bargain. For admission and coach transfers, we pay per person converted ca. 30 Euro. The bus ride leads through a spectacular mountain pass. At the sight of the first snow-capped summit a murmur is heard by the bus. On a viewing platform, we make a stop. The Chinese make faxing and photos before the really beautiful mountain scenery. Soon we reach the entrance to the reserve. For the equivalent of a further ten Euro we take a kind of mini-tram on wheels six kilometers until Luorong Prairie on 4180 Meters above sea level. The walk here near the asphalt road would have cost us a lot of time.

Picture gallery Yading Nature Reserve

The view is fantastic: We overlook a green valley. By meadows, a clear stream winds. All around are snow-capped mountains, wooded below, over rugged rocky slopes under blue sky and cumulus clouds. We itch in the feet, finally loszuwandern and so do we. We follow the path around the Chenresig, the Kora. It goes up the valley through lush green meadows past small stone houses in the middle of purple flowering shrubs. The path is not crowded, but there are some hikers go. Again and again we encounter horses, the Tibetan, often women, be conducted. On horseback, the people sitting, where a hike at this level is too hard. Some are flown in from the plains and have brought cans of oxygen.

The path gets steeper and more dramatic. We climb up the slope over slippery stones. Prayer flags line the road. The creek is now far below us in a ravine. In the distance, waterfalls rushing down the rocks. We slow down, the mountain air makes itself felt. At exposed places a strong wind blows. Behind a small hill revealed the shimmering blue Milk Lake. Unfortunately, the sun warps just behind dense clouds and it gets cold. Therefore, we rise after a short rest on narrow paths up the steep slope and reach a ridge, behind which another mountain lake, der Five-Color-Lake, hides. When the sun is shining, they no longer do, is here refract light in different colors.

Even without this effect, we are impressed by the view. The majority of hikers making at this point returns. But we treat even an extra round and follow the ridge at high altitude at the Milk Lake. Here we are traveling solo. It is after two o'clock and the last pilgrimage, which surround the Chenresig, have long since disappeared behind the ball far ahead. Apart from the wind and our panting breaths is not a sound to be heard. On the rear side of the Milk Lakes we have a break. From here we can see far up into the blue ice of a glacier. Among extends a large moraine and several waterfalls roar gen valley and feed the far below us Milk Lake.

Now it is time for us on the way back. Downhill it goes faster, but we are exhausted and hungry, when we finally reach the tram station. Hats off to the horse leaders, several times cover this distance in the day at a fast pace. Tram and bus driving us on winding roads back to Shangri-la civilization and the dust. We let the day's events. In this region of Tibet, we have so far experienced the most impressive scenery. The many tourists and the corresponding infrastructure tarnish the image. Really nice it is, once you get further away from the main routes. We are a bit sad, that we started too late, to cope with the circumnavigation of Chenrezig in a day, but probably would our condition for about 12 Hour walk and 30 Kilometers also not enough. Who tent and equipment it has, place in Yading Reserve definitely paradise for multi-day treks.

Yading National Reserve

entry
regular CNY 150, students CNY 80
plus bus ride Shangri-La - input Yading roundtrip: CNY 120

getting there:

  • Ticket Office: from the center Shangri-Las ca. 3 km along the river westward run (or taxi)
  • the Ticket Office at Shangri La by bus ca. 60 to 90 Minutes to the entrance of the Reserves

Transport im Reserve:

  • From the entrance to Chong Gu Pasture / Monastery: 10 minute walk
  • Chong Gu Pasture (4000 m) bis Luorong Pasture (4180 m): Tram 20 Min. (CNY 50/80 one way/return) or 6 km walk
  • Luorong Pasture (4180 m) bis Milk Lake (4480 m): Ride horses 1,5 to 2 Hours, descended on steep sites must (CNY 200-300 return) or 5 km walk, partly very steep

Hiking in the Reserve:
The Kora (Umrundung des Chenresig) is described in detail on http://www.thelandofsnows.com/yading-sichuan/
There are many multi-day trekking options, own equipment is required.

catering:

  • Chong Gu Pasture: Snacks and drinks
  • Luorong Pasture: Restaurant

Die zweite Nacht in Shangri-La haben die Hunde ein Einsehen mit uns und legen längere Bellpausen ein. So laufen wir einigermaßen ausgeschlafen gegen acht Uhr drei Kilometer entlang des Flusses vorbei an Baugruben und Bauzäunen zum Ticket Office des Yading Nature Reserves. In Yading gibt es drei den Tibetern heilige Berge, von denen der höchste, Chenresig, 6032 Meter in den Himmel ragt. Alle drei sind bislang noch nie bestiegen worden. Tibeter umrunden jedoch gerne den Chenresig oder auch alle drei Berge, womit man sich ihrem Glauben nach große Verdienste erwirbt.

Der Besuch des Yading Nature Reserve ist leider kein Schnäppchen. Für Eintritt und Busfahrten zahlen wir pro Person umgerechnet ca. 30 Euro. Die Busfahrt führt über einen spektakulären Bergpass. Beim Anblick des ersten schneebedeckten Gipfels ertönt ein Raunen durch den Bus. An einer Aussichtsplattform machen wir einen Stopp. Die Chinesen machen Faxen und Fotos vor der wirklich schönen Bergkulisse. Bald darauf erreichen wir den Eingang zum Reserve. Für umgerechnet weitere zehn Euro fahren wir mit einer Art Mini-Tram auf Rädern noch sechs Kilometer weiter bis zum Luorong Grasland auf 4180 Höhenmetern. Die Wanderung hierhin nahe der Asphaltstraße hätte uns viel Zeit gekostet.

Bildergalerie Yading Nature Reserve

Die Aussicht ist fantastisch: Wir blicken auf ein grünes Tal. Durch die Wiesen schlängelt sich ein klarer Bach. Ringsherum stehen schneebedeckte Berge, unten bewaldet, darüber schroffe Felshänge unter blauem Himmel und Schönwetterwolken. Uns juckt es in den Füßen, endlich loszuwandern und das tun wir auch. Wir folgen dem Rundweg um den Chenresig, der Kora. Es geht das Tal hinauf durch saftig grüne Wiesen vorbei an kleinen Steinhäusern inmitten von lila blühenden Sträuchern. Der Weg ist nicht überfüllt, aber es sind einige Wanderer unterwegs. Immer wieder begegnen uns Pferde, die von Tibetern, häufig Frauen, geführt werden. Auf dem Pferderücken sitzen die Leute, denen eine Wanderung auf dieser Höhe zu anstrengend ist. Einige sind direkt aus dem Flachland eingeflogen und haben Dosen mit Sauerstoff mitgebracht.

Der Weg wird immer steiler und dramatischer. Wir klettern den Hang hinauf über glitschige Steine. Gebetsfahnen säumen den Weg. Der Bach liegt jetzt tief unter uns in einer Schlucht. In der Ferne rauschen Wasserfälle die Felsen hinunter. Wir drosseln das Tempo, die Höhenluft macht sich bemerkbar. An exponierten Stellen weht ein starker Wind. Hinter einer kleinen Hügelkuppe offenbart sich der blau schimmernde Milk Lake. Leider verzieht sich die Sonne gerade hinter dichteren Wolken und es wird kalt. Deshalb steigen wir nach kurzer Rast auf schmalen Pfaden den steilen Hang hinauf und erreichen einen Grat, hinter dem sich ein weiterer Bergsee, der Five-Color-Lake, verbirgt. Wenn die Sonne scheint, was sie leider nicht mehr tut, soll sich hier das Licht in verschiedenen Farben brechen.

Auch ohne diesen Effekt sind wir beeindruckt von der Aussicht. Der Großteil der Wanderer macht an diesem Punkt kehrt. Wir gönnen uns aber noch eine Extrarunde und folgen dem Grat in großer Höhe um den Milk Lake. Hier sind wir ganz alleine unterwegs. Es ist nach zwei Uhr und die letzten Pilger, die den Chenresig umrunden, sind längst hinter dem Pass weit vor uns verschwunden. Außer dem Wind und unseren schnaufenden Atemzügen ist kein Geräusch zu vernehmen. Auf der hinteren Seite des Milk Lakes machen wir eine Rast. Von hier aus erkennen wir weit oben das blaue Eis eines Gletschers. Darunter erstreckt sich eine große Moräne und etliche Wasserfälle brausen gen Tal und speisen den weit unter uns liegenden Milk Lake.

Nun ist es auch für uns Zeit für den Rückweg. Bergab geht es schneller, aber wir sind erschöpft und hungrig, als wir schließlich die Tramstation erreichen. Hut ab vor den Pferdeführern, die diese Strecke mehrmals am Tag in hohem Tempo bewältigen. Tram und Bus fahren uns auf kurvigen Straßen zurück nach Shangri-la in die Zivilisation und den Staub. Wir lassen den Tag Revue passieren. In dieser Gegend Tibets haben wir bislang die eindrucksvollste Landschaft erlebt. Die vielen Touristen und die dazugehörige Infrastruktur trüben das Bild. Richtig schön wird es, sobald man sich weiter von den Hauptrouten entfernt. Wir sind etwas traurig, dass wir zu spät aufgebrochen sind, um die Umrundung des Chenresig an einem Tag zu bewältigen, aber vermutlich hätte unsere Kondition für die etwa 12 Stunden Wanderung und 30 Kilometer auch nicht ausgereicht. Wer Zelt und Ausrüstung dabei hat, findet im Yading Reserve auf jeden Fall das Paradies für mehrtägige Trekkingtouren.

Yading National Reserve

Eintritt
Regulär CNY 150, Studenten CNY 80
plus Busfahrt Shangri-La – Eingang Yading Roundtrip: CNY 120

Anreise:

  • Ticket Office: vom Zentrum Shangri-Las ca. 3 km entlang des Flusses Richtung Westen laufen (oder Taxi)
  • vom Ticket Office bei Shangri La mit dem Bus ca. 60 bis 90 Minuten bis zum Eingang des Reserves

Transport im Reserve:

  • Vom Eingang zur Chong Gu Pasture / Monastery: 10 Minuten Fußweg
  • Chong Gu Pasture (4000 m) bis Luorong Pasture (4180 m): Tram 20 Min. (CNY 50/80 one way/return) oder 6 km Fussweg
  • Luorong Pasture (4180 m) bis Milk Lake (4480 m): Pferdereiten 1,5 bis 2 Stunden, an steilen Stellen muss abgestiegen werden (CNY 200-300 return) oder 5 km Fußweg, teils sehr steil

Wandern im Reserve:
Die Kora (Umrundung des Chenresig) ist detailliert beschrieben auf http://www.thelandofsnows.com/yading-sichuan/
Es gibt viele mehrtägige Trekkingmöglichkeiten, eigene Ausrüstung ist erforderlich.

Verpflegung:

  • Chong Gu Pasture: Snacks und Getränke
  • Luorong Pasture: Restaurant